Autumn Equinox tarot spread

Last year I wrote an entry about how I like to celebrate the Autumn Equinox.  This year I wanted to do a tarot spread that addressed the concept of balance (since the Equinox is the balance between dark and light), and to play with the idea of harvest and seed planting.  So I created my own simple tarot spread.

Cards 1-4 are in a horizontal line.

Card 1:  What can I do to restore balance in my life on a Physical level?
Card 2:  What can I do to restore balance in my life on an Emotional level?
Card 3:  What can I do to restore balance in my life on a Mental level?
Card 4:  What can I do to restore balance in my life on a Spiritual level?

Card 5 is above the four previous cards.
Card 5:  What should I be harvesting at this time?

Card 6 is below the first four cards.
Card 6:  What seeds should I be planting?

Cards 1-4 are about helping a person’s life to be more in balance.  Card 5 carries the idea of what is coming to fruition in a person’s life (the results of effort over the past year, several years, or a lifetime).  Card 6 suggests activity over the next few months, the ideas or efforts we need to ponder and begin initial work on, so the project or thought can be ready to grow in the Spring and Summer.

Thanks to my recent lay-off from my job, this spread addressed my desire to regain balance in my life, plus to think about where I’ve been and where my life may be heading.  Turned out half the cards were Major Arcana, which suggests there are psychological issues underlying these changes.  I suspected the question of my thesis would show up with Card 6, and it did:  the Knight of Swords, which (among other things) I associate with energy expended on mental pursuits. 

Curious about the balance in your life?  Give this spread a try, and let me know what you think.

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in natural holidays, Tarot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

