Moon hunger

full-moon.jpg   I miss the Moon.  Thanks to a LOT of rain and overcast skies, and my stay in the hospital, I haven’t seen her since she was a thin, waxing crescent.  Sunday night on the West Coast of the U.S.  she will be a Waning Half Moon.

I’ve read a lot about Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD), and have a special sun lamp in my study, doubling as a desk lamp.  Even the DSM-IV-TR has a Seasonal Pattern Specifier for various mood disorders that include depression.  But all the research is on the effect of sunlight (or the lack) on mood.  No one writes about lack of moonlight. 

Not seeing the Moon affects my Soul.  I know she is up there; I imagine her shining on the tops of all these clouds.  But I want to SEE her.  The cool caress of the Moon’s gaze reminds me a power greater than humans is in charge of the Earth, the universe.  Yes, I’m well aware the Moon is a ball of matter similar to the minerals of the Earth.  But for me she also represents something beyond our rational minds, beyond even our unconscious minds (represented in the Moon card in tarot).   She feeds my Soul, reassures me.  I’m hungry for sight of the Moon.

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moon hunger

  1. Yes, I know what you mean. I look for the moon every night that I am out. I did see her the other night, in between snows – bright, cold, just past full through the ice crystals of sky. The moon on such a cold night has a look all its own…

    Like

  2. judithornot says:

    I saw her! I got up about 2 am, the night was clear, and there she was, just over the ridge to the east of our house. Happy sigh . . . 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

