8-5, M-F

Several months ago I let you know I wouldn’t be posting as much, in an effort to spend more time on my thesis.  Didn’t get very far on that, unfortunately.  Now, however, my time is even more limited, in a way I can’t really ignore, even on “off” days.

I have a job.  A real, 8 am to 5 pm (one hour for lunch), Monday through Friday job.  Haven’t had one of those in about seven years, when I quit my job with city government to return to school. 

The Bad News is that I’m working for a government agency again.  Those who have worked for government agencies know that 1) the public generally distrusts the government (heck, I understand that!), which is reflected in how the people you are trying to help react to you.  While there will always be employees who waste time and don’t care — in ANY job, public or private — most of the people I work with genuinely want to help people, so it gets a little frustrating when the public talks badly about you.   2) It seems to be common that public agencies expect their employees to do more and more for less and less  (income, that is).  That was one of the reasons I left my previous job.  And 3) I have to be at work at 8 am.  For a night person such as myself, this has resulted in lost sleep.  I’m getting better at going to bed earlier in the evening.  (Yawn!)

The Good News is that I’m working in my chosen field — the one I returned to school for.  🙂   Not only will this help pay my student loans, but I spend my work days talking about things I learned in school, learning how to do it better, and actually helping people!  (I hope.)   This balances out the disrespect, the more-for-less, and the lost sleep.  I really do like my job.  🙂

 

Have written before about my work with a rape crisis organization.  I also have friends in law enforcement, so I learned right away about how to set boundaries for myself and keep them.  Things learned in my volunteer work are NEVER mentioned in my social life, and vice versa.  My new job adds another intersection.  Confidentiality is VERY important, whether you are reading tarot, or helping someone deal with personal issues.  Trust is crucial, and I take it seriously.

Anyway, I may not be able to post many entries for a while, but I’m still here.  Reading tarot, knitting, watching movies, reading books, and occasionally getting some sleep.  

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8-5, M-F

  1. coppermoon says:

    Glad you are “still here” and I’ll still keep an eye on your site since I so enjoy your writing. Enjoy your days at work – they’ll make your free time all the more special, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

