Anger management workbooks

Many of my clients come in with anger problems (and even depression is often anger turned inward), so I’ve been doing some research on healthy ways of dealing with anger.  While there may be other fine workbooks on anger out there, the two I stumbled across and am very impressed with are The Pathways to Peace Management Workbook by William Fleeman (2003) and The Anger Workbook For Women by Laura J. Petracek (2004).

 The Pathways to Peace Anger Management Workbook was developed by William Fleeman based on twelve step programs for addictions.  Fleeman has an anger problem of his own (as with other addictions, anger is something you control, not eliminate), and devised this system as a way to overcome his anger addiction.  However, these techniques have been “road tested” with a variety of people, and is beyond the “if it worked for me it can work for you” variety of self-help book.  It includes some very practical, cognitive based exercises that are simple to follow and apt to be effective.  I was very impressed with his technique for controlling memory cues, and find myself wondering if they will also work on triggers for other strong emotions, such as the reactions experienced by people with PTSD.  Am toying with reworking some of his exercises to use with symptoms of depression and anxiety.  Fleeman has borrowed ideas from other areas, and brought them together in a workbook that is readable and understandable.  I’ve used his chapter on being assertive versus being aggressive with clients.  Apparently there are also Pathways to Peace anger management groups based on his workbook (much like Alcoholics Anonymous or Narcotics Anonymous), but when I checked their web site, I could find none in California or Oregon.  Fleeman seems to be based on the East Coast, so am guessing they may be more prevalent there.

The second book I found and have been using is The Anger Workbook For Women.  Petracek suggests the triggers for women’s anger may be different than those for men (often more relationship oriented).  Also, women are often socialized to believe anger is not appropriate, so they stuff it inside (depression) or manifest it in a more passive-aggressive manner, or feel guilt over expressing it outwardly.  Women are just as apt to get angry as men, but often don’t even realize it.  Petracek has chapters on boundaries, self-esteem, anger and our children, abuse, and the positive functions of anger.  I am especially impressed with her chapters on communication and self talk (the latter dealing with cognitive distortions), and have used them to help clients gain better communication skills and awareness of how their thoughts control their emotions. 

Both these workbooks are inexpensive, and both can be used without being part of a group or in therapy (though it may help to have someone to talk with while completing some of the exercises).  If you suspect you may have a problem with anger, whether it is controlling it or learning to express it in a healthy way, one or both of these books may be of help.

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in books, family, Mental Health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Anger management workbooks

  1. Shannon says:

    Thanks for your reviews of these books. There is so much information out their about anger management it is hard to find credible opinions

    Shannon Munford M.A.
    http://www.daybreakservices.com/blog

    Like

  2. Ladybeams says:

    I thought this was very interesting. I went from never expressing my anger, having ulcers by the time I was in fourth grade, to exploding because I didn’t want to suffer the physical pain any longer. I learned to control my anger by thinking things through as to what would be more likely to get me what I wanted. Now I’m older and I just don’t tend to get that angry any longer. I truely think a lot of anger management is emotional maturity.

    Like

  3. judithornot says:

    Lately when I’ve wanted information on a subject, I’ve been checking books and their reviews at the book selling sites. So far I’ve only had a couple I wish I hadn’t purchased.

    A lot of anger problems even out as people get older, but not always. Sometimes the people wind up in jail, or even dead, because of their anger, so we just don’t see as many angry older people around. The Pathways to Peace workbook had a very good section on being aware of the consequences of your anger, and using that to keep anger in check. Am glad you were able to reason your way out of the anger, Ladybeams!

    Like

Leave a Reply

