This afghan is for me!

my-afghanMy first afghan was for my husband, and because I was still a very new knitter, it had lots of mistakes.  And all the while I knitted it, I thought about the afghan I would eventually knit for myself.  It would be in shades of blue, green, and purple/lavender, and it would be in wool. 

Eventually I had the money (back when I had a job), so I visited my local yarn shop.  Reality hit imagination when I realized they didn’t carry quite the shades I had been imagining.  But they came close, and I was willing to go with what they had.

So here it is!  The photo shows the side flipped over to show the back.  The pattern is “Rolling Ripple” (minus the fringe), and comes from Knit Afghans of Many Colors (American School of Needlework, #1347).  The main color is Cascade Yarns Ecological Wool (unbleached).  The alternating colors are all Nature Spun 100% wool: Enchanted Forest, Blue Boy, Boysenberry, Nordic Blue, Arctic Moss, and Royal Purple.  I altered the pattern to make a plain 10 stitch/10 row border at the sides and ends.  All you do is knit, and every fourth row you “*(k2 tog tbl) twice; (YO, K1) 4 times; (K2 tog tbl) twice; rep from * across.”    It’s so simple, it would probably drive a more advanced knitter to tears.  But for me it was very soothing.  And the wool felt so good to work with.

One of the things I really enjoy about this wool afghan is the way it smells.  It reminds me of the wool blankets my mom had on her bed when I was a kid.  Halfway through the knitting I took in my second skein of the unbleached wool and one of the owners of our local yarn shop volunteered to take it home and wind it on her motorized winder — Great!  Imagine my dismay when I got it back the next day, put it to my nose as I walked to the car, and smelled cigarette smoke!  AARGH!  Fortunately we had several days of sunny weather, so I put it out in the sun, hoping to dissipate the smell.  I also added a few drops of pure lavender essential oil to it.  Eventually the smell faded away, but you can bet I won’t ask her to wind any more skeins for me.  [Will mention it to her the next time I’m in the shop, so it doesn’t happen to another customer.]

Am already planning my next afghans, this time for our grandchildren.  However, I’ll probably do them in acrylic, so they will be easier to wash.  Let’s see . . . black, pink, and red for the girl, and . . .

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in practical art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This afghan is for me!

  1. barb says:

    Wow! Beautiful! Good for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

