A random act of kindness (and other stuff)

Being unemployed, I’ve cut way back on my visits to Starbucks.  But this afternoon I decided to treat myself (remembering to bring my own cup, so I got a discount).  I entered the drive-thru, placed my order, and waited patiently behind a Windstar with a left tail-light repaired with colored tape.  When I finally drove up to the window, the friendly barista told me my green iced tea was already paid for . . . by the person in the vehicle ahead of me!  The barista said the driver claimed not to know me, and I certainly didn’t recognize the vehicle.  Must admit, it put me in a kindly disposition for the rest of the day.  I thought about why the person might have done it, and the domino effect of a kind act.  How lovely!

Back when I had money, I subscribed to “Ode” magazine, which says it is for “intelligent optimists.”  I like that idea.  🙂  There have been good articles, and it is encouraging to learn of a variety of ways to help the planet and its inhabitants.  One of the back-of-the-issue articles in the November issue was about Betsy Greer, and her new book, Knitting for Good!: A Guide to Creating Personal, Social, and Political Change Stitch by Stitch.  Am hoping to get it for Solstice, so will write a review of it later (maybe).  🙂  Meanwhile, I’ve been reading her blog, art + craft = craftivism .  I always find it interesting to learn how people got where they are, so I started from her first blog entry and began reading forward.  She reminds me of the women in my women’s studies classes, who were so into zines and how everything is a political statement.  (Well, it can be!)  As I read her blog entries forward, I was disappointed by the two-year gap from May 2006 to May 2008, but figure that must have been when she was writing her book.  Anyway, if you are interested in how to combine your love of craft (whatever it may be) with making the world a better place, I encourage you to go visit her blog.  And maybe buy her book.  🙂

And finally, we have been watching holiday movies since the weekend after Thanksgiving.  To qualify as a holiday movie, there must be a scene related to Winter Solstice/Christmas/Hanukkah/Kwanzaa etc., which makes for a wide range of movies.  Not only do you get “It’s a Wonderful Life” and “The Holiday,” but “Die Hard” and “Long Kiss Goodnight” also meet the criteria.  🙂  My husband recently bought us “The Muppet Christmas Carol,” so the other muppets-cc1night we watched that.  Michael Caine plays Scrooge, Kermit plays Bob Cratchett, Gonzo plays Charles Dickens, and just about all the Muppets get in there somewhere.  There is the scene where the two gentlemen approach Scrooge about making a donation toward the poor and homeless, and he sends them away brusquely.  The two gentlemen are played by Professor Bunsen and his assistant, Beaker (one of my favorites).  As Scrooge is throwing them out of his office, my husband suddenly burst out in laughter!   What?!  So we replayed that bit, and there is Beaker, flipping off Scrooge!  I wonder how that got past the censors!    [To see one of my favorite Beaker videos (it’s short), visit Ode to Joy .]

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in DVDs, practical art, Random thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A random act of kindness (and other stuff)

  1. barb says:

    Ah, a “pay it forward” person – I’ve been hearing about folks doing this …

    Like

Leave a Reply

