Ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

There are times we make choices, and they seem so right. Maybe the choices were right at that time, and perhaps good things have come of them. But sometimes choices are temporary, and we don’t realize it at the time. My work with Rape Crisis was like that. I still feel strongly positive about the need for Rape Crisis centers, and am thankful for those who work/volunteer at them. But my work there was temporary. I learned many things, and I think I helped people. However, my goals to help people through extended counseling did not mesh with the goals of the agency, so it was time for us to part company.

I took the month of December off — my family and friends probably think I took the month off from life itself.  🙂  I suspect they figure I’ve dropped off the face of the planet.  Think I needed that time to withdraw . . . to escape from drama and sad things.  I only partially succeeded, but it was enough to shift my attitude to a more positive focus.  🙂

Now I have a new job, with the Smith River Rancheria as a Social Worker/Advocate.  I am working with an organization that shares many of my core values, such as caring for the Earth, respect for elders, and a willingness to help people where they are.  It’s also a very small community, though it’s spread over four or five counties in two states (California and Oregon).  They are giving me guidelines, then trusting me to accomplish them without micro-managing.  That is very empowering.  I am happy here, and looking forward to good things.  🙂

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

