Looking Within

I love introspective questions. Socrates said, “The unexamined life is not worth living.” If we understand why we do things, there is a better chance we will be able to change the stuff we don’t like, in ourselves AND in society.

Today I am reading Addressing Domestic Violence in Indian Country: Introductory Manual, by Mending the Sacred Hoop Technical Assistance Project.  Here’s a quote from page 80:

A person once told me that we all have shadows in our lives.  Shadows, as it was explained to me, meant that we had areas of our lives that made us uncomfortable.  These were areas that often were outside of our own experience, sometimes our shadows came from an experience that brought us great pain.  Our shadows are areas that we might judge in a disapproving way.     I learned a lot from examining myself and looking for any shadows.  I asked myself, “Who am I most uncomfortable with?  Why?”

Today’s challenging question:  Whom are you most uncomfortable with?  Why?

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in Mental Health, Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

