Working with chakras

About twelve years ago, when I first realized I wanted to be a therapist, I discovered a book by Anodea Judith, Eastern Body Western Mind (1997, 2004).  By the second chapter, I realized I wanted to practice therapy the way she did, integrating techniques from Western psychology and Eastern healing.  I even contacted her by email, to find out where she got her Ph.D. in psychology.  Alas, that university no longer offered advanced degrees like hers.  But she still inspires me.  I’ve read her other books since then, and recently signed up for a monthly chakra study through Sacred Centers, her website. [ www.sacredcenters.com ]  Working with the chakras is one of those tools I mentioned that counteracts depression.  This morning it popped into my head that instead of seeking to no longer be depressed, I need to focus my energy on being healthy.

Am sure I will be writing more about chakras as the study progresses.  I am certainly not an expert in this area, and never expect to be.  But I am looking toward the learning.    🙂

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in books, health, Interesting people, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

