The meaning of Food

I wish eating food was merely a physical response.  Something like, My body needs fuel; I eat healthy food to keep it going.  Period.  Life would be so much simplier, and probably healthier.

Food is tied up with so many mental, emotional, even spiritual connotations.  We eat food to comfort ourselves . . . to hide behind our flesh . . . to show dominance . . . to show friendship . . . to symbolize a connection . . . to show love . . . to show concern . . . to build communion with others . . . to give respect . . . the list goes on and on.  Usually it has something to do with nourishing, but often it is not physical.  (As I wrote about here.)  Or we don’t eat food . . . to take back control . . . to make ourselves disappear . . . because we learned to hate ourselves . . . to punish someone . . . because society tells us skinny is better . . . for many reasons. 

For a variety of physical reasons, I have to be a little careful about what I eat.  Yet I work in a place where my co-workers and clients really care about food (for cultural reasons).  They care about cooking good food, and it is a bonding experience.  When there are committee meetings after 5 p.m., the committee expects food to be provided.  Agency time is spent preparing that food.  Or when we celebrate a coworker’s birthday, we go out to eat; there is always great discussion about the pros and cons of various establishments, and firm opinions.  I work where there are animated discussions about food on a daily basis.

Having to be careful about what I eat is a pain.  I actually like the things I can eat; oatmeal is my favorite, and salads and most veggies are yummy.    🙂    But eating out makes things tricky.  Not being able to eat what someone has brought to share may be seen as an insult.  Even at a potluck, I have seen people watch who eats what.   I wish eating was a simple, physical exercise, without all the landmines.

What do you think/feel about food?

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in family, food, health, Random thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

