Clouds: Temporary Art

I love watching clouds.  I don’t know the official names of the types of clouds, and frankly, I don’t care.  I love the aesthetic experience of watching clouds.   I love their colors: all shades of grey and white, some with hints of green or purple.  That’s not even counting the colors a sunset or sunrise will contribute.   I love the way they change —  it is like watching a kaleidoscope.

Not all locales have good clouds.  The most picturesque clouds are those related to passing storms or hail.  When I lived in Southern California, we rarely got those clouds.  Here on the Northern California coast, they happen on a regular basis.  I remember taking vacations through Arizona and New Mexico, and if they had clouds, they were often the spectacular storm clouds. 

Sometimes I see pictures in the clouds.  I remember one vacation where the clouds formed what looked like the mouth of a cave, with a stream running out of it.  That must have been 55 years ago, and it is still vivid in my memory.  Clouds form the grandest, most wonderful art . . . and it only lasts for a few minutes or less.  I find myself wondering if a Nature diva is creating the art . . . playing with the clouds, and hoping someone will notice.         🙂

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in Random thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

