Happy Spring! (PS: We are involved in another war)

I wanted to post this on Sunday, which was the first day of Spring here in North America, but the news we were bombing Libya rather put me off any celebration.

The Equinox is when the hours of day and night are equal everywhere on Earth.  For us here in the Northern Hemisphere, the hours of daylight lengthen until the Sun reaches its peak at Summer Solstice in June.  In pagan Europe, a Teutonic goddess of rebirth was celebrated on this day: Ostara or Eostre.  Her symbols are flowers, rabbits, vines, and eggs (representing new life).  It is a time to put forth good intentions for careers, relationships, love, good health, and good fortune.  It is a time of change.  The stones associated with this time of year are lapis lazuli, clear quartz crystals, garnet, agate, and rose quartz.  The scents are tulip, daffodil, lavender, lily, violet, jonquil, lily of the valley, and honeysuckle.  Spring is a time of delicate beauty, when all pastel colors are appropriate.  At this time of year I clear away my Winter decorations, and put out those that reflect Spring.  Sometimes the weather does not feel like Spring, but the wish for new growth and positive change is there.

So you can see why the news we were bombing Libya added a jarring note to my celebration on Sunday.   I have a loved one in the military, and I am getting tired of the government risking his life for economic reasons.  First it was Iraq because of oil, now it is Libya.  Politicians trot out the whole “oppressed populations” excuse (and they are oppressed and I feel for them), but Europe and the U.S. are bombing Libya because the conflict threatens Europe’s oil supply.  I suppose most wars are fought for economic reasons, but this is the first time I have thought about it.  I am not comfortable with my loved one risking his life so I can afford to drive to work.

When I celebrated the Vernal Equinox on Sunday, I asked for positive change for myself, and for a more positive attitude to waft through the world.     Hey —  I can ask.     🙂    Namaste.

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in natural holidays, politics, spirituality, Uncategorized, world. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

