Visitor from Baja: Crested Caracara

On Wednesday morning I saw a bird that is not supposed to be in this area: a Crested Caracara.  It was along Hwy 101, about 12 miles south of the Oregon border, sharing road kill with some crows.  When I saw it I didn’t know what it was, so a friend directed me to www.whatbird.com where I finally found it.  It is not a migratory bird, and its range appears to be Central and South America, though it does show up in Florida (where it is endangered) and southern areas of Arizona.  All I can figure is that this bird was blown north by the storms we have been having. 

I notice birds, but am not a bird watcher.  So when a bird really makes me take notice, I find myself wondering if it is bringing me a message.  Many of the online sites talk about how this is the national bird of Mexico, and that it features in folklore, but none of them talked about a meaning associated with the bird.  I did finally find this blog:  http://retiredeagle.wordpress.com/2010/02/13/crested-caracara-a-sign-of-dark-times-to-come-the-nigredo/  .  Robert G. Longpre writes about his photography through a Jungian lens, and in thinking about the Crested Caracara he suggests the bird might be about “coming to terms with all we have ever denied about ourselves.”  Interesting.  I wonder if the appearance of the bird has anything to do with my Mercury retrograde transit?   Things to ponder . . .

PS  I saw the bird again on September 6th (2011), taking care of road kill along Hwy 101, just north of the Dr. Fine Bridge, Smith River CA.

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in nature, Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Visitor from Baja: Crested Caracara

  1. Kiwi says:

    I am doing a report on this bird i would love to learn more about the Crested Caracara please tell me more about this bird

    Like

  2. judithornot says:

    Wish I could tell you more, but I really don’t know much about it. I talked with a birding friend and did some internet research. I have seen the bird (or another one like it) a third time, on a county road in the same area. It was just walking along. 🙂 I heard sometimes people in Mexico will catch a male bird, and put it in with chickens, to create a better fighting bird. Don’t know if that is true. I do know we have a large immigrant population from Mexico in that area, so I wonder if someone brought it up for that reason?

    Like

Leave a Reply

