“Home Is Where the Wine Is” (Crazy Aunt Purl)

Back when I was first learning to knit, I looked for easy patterns online, and I discovered Crazy Aunt Purl’s blog.  Crazy Aunt Purl (aka Laurie Perry) grew up in the South, moved to Southern California, and went through a variety of life changes.  One of those was learning how to knit, even though living in Southern California means she can’t wear many of the things she knits (because she would melt with the heat).  But I get a lot of great knitting patterns and ideas from her blog, and I laugh and feel empathy and am happy knowing someone as creative and real as she is is in the world.

Her first book was Drunk, Divorced and Covered in Cat Hair  (2007).  Laurie has multiple cats, and since we do, too, that is also a point of connection.  Her first book was about her early life (a little) and the changes she went through after her divorce.  I like the way she writes, because it is funny the way life is funny (like Bill Cosby used to do in the 60s).  She also thinks about life, and her ponderings make me ponder. 

Home Is Where the Wine Is (2009) is her second book, and her humor translates from the blog to the written page even better this time.  We get an example of her humor right away on page vii, where she is watching television with her grandmother:  “We just watched the West Hollywood Gay Men’s Chorus on TV, and she turned to ask me if I thought being gay was a requirement to join the chorus or if it was just a learning opportunity.”     😀     As my husband would say, the apple didn’t fall far from the tree.  The book is organized around her resolutions for the year, and how they are resolved, including seeking enlightenment, traveling, knitting socks, dating, gardening, therapy, and exercise.  I love looking at the world through a different lens, especially when that lens has a sense of humor.

Reading Laurie’s books and blogs makes me happy.  Either she is making me smile, or I identify with her ponderings and don’t feel so alone.  She probably won’t win any Pulitzers, but I suspect she is making a lot of other people happy, too, and that is a valuable thing.   Thank you, Laurie!

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in books, Interesting people and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

