Yarn junkie?

Am beginning to suspect I am a yarn junkie.  When I feel stressed, the sight, smell, and texture of yarn soothes me.  And if there is a yarn store around, I always feel better when I buy some yarn.  [Like Mel Gibson’s character looking for the book “Catcher in the Rye” in the movie “Conspiracy Theory.”]  I look first for things like silk, bamboo, alpaca, and soft wools, but after that it is the colors that seduce me.  I am a sucker for variegated yarns — always have been, even before I could do much with them.   Am most fond of cool colors (blues, greens, purples), and if the colors draw me I will even buy acrylic yarn.  (Gasp!)  Tonight I was seduced at Michael’s by a worsted acrylic yarn called “Impeccable,” in a shade named luxury ombre.  Yes, I bought it despite the name.   (The photo doesn’t do it justice; it’s really more shades of green, with blue and lavender.)

And what do I do with these bindles of yarn?  I make scarves.  Big scarves and little, skinny scarves, all in the general pattern of alternating blocks of knit and purl.  Right now I am working on one made of “baby yarn,” because I wanted something Springy.  I used to feel almost guilty I rarely do more complicated stuff anymore.  I do have a pair of silk handwarmers started, but they have a tendency to wait at home for when I can really pay attention to what I am doing.  Scarves are generally easy to tote around with you, and the pattern is uncomplicated enough I can work on them while waiting for something, or to relax.   Then a few weeks ago Crazy Aunt Purl admitted she knits mostly scarves, too, and she lives in Southern California where you rarely need a scarf.  Am thinking perhaps we both knit for the process . . . for the joy of being absorbed in our task, and watching the scarf come into being.  With my variegated yarns, I love watching how the colors form patterns.  It’s like the “magic” of kaleidoscopes. 

There are worse things to be hooked on than yarn.  It’s even a practical habit.    🙂    When I begin stashing yarn behind the canned goods in the kitchen, then I’ll start to be concerned.

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in Mental Health, practical art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn junkie?

  1. callouttheguards says:

    What about bowls?

    Like

  2. judithornot says:

    Do you mean hiding yarn behind bowls? Or making bowls out of yarn? If that latter, it has to be wool yarn to felt properly. Actually, I might have some of that in my stash. 🙂

    Like

  3. skosbar says:

    How do you get to the pattern that is shown in the pic.

    Like

    • judithornot says:

      Can’t remember where I got the idea for this scarf (probably from a photo?), but it is one of my favorites. 🙂 You cast on in any number that can be divided by 5. Then you do five rows of seed stitch. Row 6 has five seed stitch, then five knit, five purl, alternating knit/purl until you get to the last five stitches (which you do in seed stitch). The edges will always be in seed stitch (helps it lay flat). Rows 6-10, make sure you do the blocks of knit and purl, so it creates squares. Row 11 you do knit blocks where they were purl before, and purl where they were knit. Continue with rows 12-15. At row 16 you alternate blocks again (16-20). Just keep doing that until you have the scarf about as long as you want, and then finish with five rows of seed stitch. It’s pretty simple, really, and if you make a mistake and do six rows in a block, no one will really notice. I even made a point of varying it on one scarf, just for the fun of it. Hope this is understandable. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

