WWKiP Week

That is World Wide Knit in Public Week.   🙂   It began with World Wide Knit in Public Day, which is today, and grew into a week-long event.  Various shops and knitting circles are doing events at public places.    It is also the first International Yarn Bombing Day.      Yarn bombing has been going on for a couple years now, though it has grown in popularity in the last year.  It is where knitters (and sometimes crocheters) go to public places and make cozies for bike racks, stop signs, statues, subway seats, and all sorts of public items.  My favorite so far is this little travel trailer.

I plan on knitting in public every day, even if it means I have to leave the house and go out in public on Sunday (the day I usually stay home and veg).  Wish I had something exciting or particularly colorful to knit.  Right now I am still working on the thin scarf in Spring colors.  However, putting the scarf on one of Ocean World’s seal statues would make it more exciting.    🙂

Am seriously thinking about knitting myself another hat, using the yarn below.  It is Noro, in a 56% wool, 34% silk, and 10% kid mohair combination.   I went through a period where I knitted myself hats in just about every color.  Recently Crazy Aunt Purl ran a free pattern for a slouchy hipster hat, and I immediately thought of this yarn.  As mentioned last month, I have a tendency to buy yarn without a specific project in mind, and this yarn called to me.

Are you planning on knitting in public, or doing some yarn bombing?     🙂

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in practical art, social issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

