My Berry Bush List (aka Bucket List)

I have been considering things I might like to do before I die.  (Not that I have any intention of that being soon.  In case you wondered.)  In current popular culture it would be called a Bucket List, the idea being it is things you would like to do before you kick the bucket (die). 

I wondered where the term, “kick the bucket” came from.  Wikipedia suggests it has to do with death by hanging, the idea being that the person stands on a bucket while they have a noose around their neck, and then the bucket is kicked out from under them.   While researching the term, I came across a humorous blog entry about the author naming their “bucket list” using other possible euphemisms having to do with death.  There was the Fish List (sleeping with the fishes), the Dirt List (six feet under), and the RIP List (resting in peace).  My favorite was the Daisy List (pushing up daisies), but around here it would be more aptly named the Berry Bush List.  (If there is ever a nuclear disaster in this corner of the world, all that will be left will be ants and blackberry bushes.)

My Berry Bush List

  • Pay off my one credit card balance.  (It’s not much.)
  • Get rid of 50-70% of my “stuff.”

That is it.  There are other things I might put on a secondary list, such as visit family in Tennessee, go to Ireland and Scotland, and spend two weeks sight-seeing in Paris, but in keeping with my desire to minimize, those two things would take care of it.

The driving force behind those two activities is to not leave a mess behind for others to clean up.  I don’t know if that is admirable, or pathetic.  My mom left some money when she died (everything else had already been given away or sold), so handling her estate was easy.   A couple years ago a friend’s mother died, and there was so much stuff to go through (and she had already begun giving things to people); the estate is still not closed.

I also want to accomplish those two things, because I think it will make me feel “lighter.”  One of the concepts of feng shui is to get rid of clutter and allow a balanced flow of energy; this benefits your health and psychological well-being (as well as your finances and other things). 

It will also mean fewer things to keep clean.      🙂

Do you have a “bucket list”?

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in health, home, Mental Health, Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

