The Web*sters, Ashland OR

Today I re-discovered The Web*sters in Ashland, Oregon.  The first time I visited it (18 years ago), I still considered myself a weaver, tho’ it had been 3-4 years since I had done any weaving.  The next time I visited I had forgotten to bring a jacket, and it was cold, so I splurged and bought the most beautiful lavender, woven, wool shawl — I still have it and I still wear it.

Today I was looking for yarn for a new project (more about that in another post), and I remembered The Web*sters had yarn.  I had forgotten how much yarn, and the variety.  My jaw dropped, my eyes lit up, and my husband said he would wait for me at The Black Sheep (an English-style pub).  One of the ladies working there laughed, and commented that I had just walked into a candy store.   But this was even better than See’s!    🙂

They have yarn for weavers and knitters and crocheters.  They have wool for handspinners.  They have a large selection of books, DVDs, and supplies for everything related to the aforementioned activities.  They also have a wonderful selection of knitted items, most of them one-of-a-kind.  I saw beautiful pieces I would love to wear, and found myself thinking, “I could make that.”   They have classes and they have handicraft groups.  You can visit their website here.   They also have sales personnel who know what they are talking about.   They will ask if you want help, but they don’t hover.  And they understand about sniffing wool.   🙂

We have a yarn shop in the town I live in (A Perfect Yarn), but because it lacks the population base it is small.   They do have lovely yarns.    🙂    But walking around Web*sters was amazing.   I bought the yarn I was looking for, and could not pass up a couple hanks of Noro.    🙂    And really. Ashland is only about a 2-1/2 hour drive from where I live.   Am sure I will be back again soon.

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in practical art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

