Things “click” when we are ready

The past couple months have been busy.  October was Domestic Violence Awareness Month, so there were a variety of events associated with that.  And I was knitting dwarf hats.  And a foolish stretch to reach something resulted in a minor injury that developed into a frozen shoulder (so I haven’t been sleeping well).  All while the usual necessities and events of life went on. 

I wasn’t making time for my spiritual practice, so I wasn’t handling things with grace (though I put on a good public face).  This last weekend I finally had time to stop, relax, and observe.  The first thing to click into place was a quote from a friend, Debbie Sanders:

“Wherever you are, let your spirit dwell in the wilderness.”

I read that at least twice over the past couple years, but this weekend it happened.  I closed my eyes in meditation, and every time I let go of intruding inner chatter, it was as if my inner self was standing on a moor.  It was a sunny day, with a light wind, the wind sighing in the small bushes, and there was an herbish smell in the air.   It was lovely.  Later, it dawned on me it was that quote coming true.  When I need a tiny break, I can connect with my spirit in the wilderness.

Another quote clicked into place, too.  This one was passed along to me by another friend, from a book of Buddhist wisdom:

“There is only one minute in which you are alive:  this minute, here and now.  The only way to live is by accepting each minute as an unrepeatable miracle.”

When the negative thoughts (often self-generated) try to poison my minute, I reject them by thinking, This minute is a miracle.  That in turn conjures up all the wonderful things in that minute, and they vary depending on the minute:  my husband’s smile, the cat’s purr, warm sunshine, an Autumn tree, clean air to breathe, green tea, a job to pay the bills, and so forth.  In all but the most extreme circumstances, there is always something miraculous happening, and perhaps even then.  (We just can’t see it.)

Things are better today.    🙂

I leave you with this photo of one of our cats, hoping to sneak into my husband’s lap while he plays World of Warcraft.  Patient cat, patient husband.    🙂

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in family, Mental Health, Random thoughts, spirituality and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

