Counting my blessings

Did you create a list of things you are thankful for yesterday?  I did, and made it to 109 before I was distracted by family and food.    I had the usual listing of family and friends (which I am MOST thankful for!), but there were also slightly different things, that most people don’t think of right away.  Here are some of the items on my list:

  • Sun and sunshine
  • Rain
  • Trees and sustainable forestry
  • Cats (in general, and pets in particular)
  • Birds
  • Elk
  • Sustainable, organic, non-GMO farming and husbandry
  • Iced green tea from Starbucks (yes, I’m hooked)
  • That we don’t live in a war zone
  • Sheep and wool
  • Natural fibre yarns
  • Knowing how to knit
  • Being able to go to school
  • The ocean
  • Seeing natural wonders
  • The Internet
  • People who write blogs
  • My spiritual path
  • Tarot
  • My tattoos
  • Rakes and brooms (rather than blowers!)
  • Things made of wood and pottery
  • My glasses and modern medicine
  • Essential oils
  • Hot showers!
  • Sleep and dreams
  • Geology (it shapes who we become, just like people do)
  • Clean water
  • Music and instruments
  • DVDs
  • Barter
  • Recycling
  • Fire
  • Nail clippers (Silly, I know.  🙂    )

Thing is, there is so much to be thankful for in this world, even when we don’t have much.  I am fortunate; we are doing pretty well.  Some of it has come from hard work, and some from luck.   Will keep my list for the days when I am down.

What are you thankful for?

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in Random thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

