I saw a cardinal!

We were in Tennessee and Kentucky last week, and I saw my first cardinal (the bird).  I was so excited!  This photo isn’t the greatest, because my camera is average, and I had to photograph the bird through glass.  (Was afraid I’d scare him off if I went outside.)   It was the only cardinal I saw during my stay.

When I was a little girl I had a very basic book about birds and other animals you see outdoors, and the cardinal fascinated me.  I was discouraged when I realized they do not live in California, and decided that someday I would travel east to see one.  That was about 50 years ago, and I finally did it!    🙂

I believe in paying attention to unique occurences, because sometimes that is how Deity speaks to us.  I looked up meanings associated with the cardinal.  All birds are seen as message carriers, and since this bird was named by Europeans who associated its color with the red cape of a Catholic Cardinal, it is thought the cardinal carries messages having to do with spiritual issues.  It is also associated with the idea of polar opposites (male/female, black/white, et cetera), and finding their common ground or something new from the combination of the two.  As it happens, these were ideas I was dealing with at the time (although I didn’t look up the meanings until several days later).   It was a way of saying, Pay attention to this — it is important.  So there was more to it than the excitement of me seeing this bird for the first time.   🙂

Has something similar happened to you?  Have you always hoped to see/experience something, and then it unexpectedly happened?  Or are you still looking forward to it?

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in nature, spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

