I’m knitting cables!

Most of my knitting is done during “down time” — when I’m waiting for something, or need to let my mind relax.  Hence, I tend to stick to simple designs where I don’t have to do much counting or shaping.  I have done lots of hats, scarves, and some afghans.   For some reason I was avoiding cables, because they looked complicated, and I’ve never been particularly in love with cables as a style choice — they looked like something my mother would wear. 

Thanks to the renaissance in knitting, people are doing things with cables my ancestors probably never thought of doing.  So I took the plunge, and cables are easy!  I like the book, “Knitting for Dummies,” because they don’t assume you know anything about the subject, and they are careful to explain the how, what, and why of a lesson.  I decided to do a sampler scarf, for practice with the cables and so it would be useful when I was done.  I experimented, and played with changing things, and I had a good time with it.  🙂

Side note:  Recently a friend gave me five skeins of this wool yarn in a color called Old Gold.  I love wool, but am not fond of the color, so had planned to donate the scarf.  After I cast on, and began knitting, I kept smelling cigarettes, although the yarn smelled fine.  It took me several days to make the connection.  After my mom quit smoking cold turkey (she was determined like that), we washed and re-painted her kitchen.  The walls had been cream-colored, but the cigarette smoke turned them a pale golden brown — the color of this yarn. 

Now I’m working on a scarf for my husband, just a simple cable braid.  Am excited about the yarn:  Mythral, by Stansborough, in a deep red color called Royal Rata.  (This photo doesn’t do it justice.  The yarn is a shade we used to call oxblood.)  I ordered the yarn from New Zealand, and the paper band says, “Stansborough Greys’ produce one of the rarest fibres in the world!  This unique, lustrous, silky grey sheep breed dates back to the vikings and can only be found on the picturesque pastures of Stansborough Estate in New Zealand.”  Public relations aside, it is a very pleasant yarn to knit with, and I am excited to see how the scarf turns out.    🙂

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in books, practical art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m knitting cables!

  1. Bridget Foy says:

    The scarves look great. Must get back to knitting some time. I did loads in the 80s when it was all the rage!

    Like

    • judithornot says:

      I missed that trend, but it became very popular in the U.S. around 2003, and is still happening. My daughter-in-law made me a lovely caplet and some washcloths, and I wanted more, so I taught myself to knit. I love it! Far more portable than a loom. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

