I begin the Wholehearted Shawl

The lovely lady at Kiwiyarn Knits posted a couple weeks ago about a knit-along on the Wholehearted Shawl.  Of course, she has already finished hers.  🙂   Isn’t it beautiful?

The shawl was designed by Erika, and you can purchase it at Ravelry (only $5).  Her daughter lost her home and belongings in a fire, and all the proceeds from the sale of this pattern are going to help her.   Evelyn at Project: Stash has organized the knit-along, which I waited until today to join (so I could post what I have done so far).  🙂

As you can see, I haven’t done much yet.  Actually, I had more done, but learned it is not wise to knit under the influence of Mango Mojitos.  (Ahem.)   Thanks to my husband, I already have Mini Mochi fingerweight rainbow yarn; I bought the Cascade Yarns Heritage sock yarn to go with it (a dark teal color).  This is my first shawl, so it is a learning process.   🙂   I am enjoying it!

Last weekend while in Ashland OR I visited The Web*sters.  What a dangerous store for fiber people!   (I wrote about it here.)  I had originally imagined the Wholehearted Shawl in shades of green, and decided to buy the yarn there (could not find the combination of colors I had imagined at my local yarn store).  I found just what I imagined, but out of a whole store of reasonably priced yarn I found my yarn in the expensive corner.  Our cat, Susan, likes the yarn, too.   🙂

The dark yarn is really more of a pine green (they call it jade), and the lighter skein is more sage (Spring aqua).  It is Mooi by louet, 15% bison/15% cashmere/70% bamboo.  Isn’t it beautiful?  And it feels so lovely — am looking forward to working with it.

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in practical art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I begin the Wholehearted Shawl

  1. kiwiyarns says:

    Thanks so much for joining the KAL. 🙂 Your Susan looks so cute! Bison & cashmere – delicious!!

    Like

  2. Panama says:

    We made it out of Soft yarn , and matched Kate’s green with Dark Leaf. I really like the textured body and the pretty ruffled edging. With the steady increases building the body, this will be an enjoyable and interesting project. I think I might knit mine out of Washable Ewe. I really like working with wool and love that I can put this yarn in the washing machine if it gets tired looking. Either way, using a medium weight yarn means that this shawl will take a lot less time to make than Kate’s did- which means you can enjoy it even faster!

    Like

Leave a Reply

