More to Life

“There is more to life than increasing its speed.”  —  Gandhi

Back in the 70s I got a tacky little poster which said that.  The poster is long gone, but that’s okay, because the quote is part of my life. 

I remember it when the older person at the check-out counter is taking a while to write their check, and the person behind me is sighing with impatience.

I remember it when I’m already driving 4 mph over the speed limit on Highway 101 (the Highway Patrol doesn’t get upset about that), and the person behind me is pushing me to go faster.

I remember it when I’m running a WoW dungeon with a group, and the tank is in such a hurry to move from one target to the next that there is no time to recharge my mana, and eventually I get lost or killed by a wandering “enemy.”  (All while the tank keeps chiding us to, “Keep up!”)

I remember it when I’m knitting, enjoying watching the play of colors and manifestation of the item I imagined.

I remember it when I spend the day relaxing with my husband.

I remember it when I play with my co-worker’s toddler. 

There are a LOT of benefits to the modern world, such as computers, the Internet, my little car that goes fast on curves, cell phones, and most of modern medicine.  Advances that make life easier or less time-consuming or healthier.  But it still takes nine months to grow a baby.  And maybe it takes a while for our thoughts and emotions to process everything around us, or even to grow up. 

Please, World . . . . . . there is more to life than increasing its speed!

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in family, health, home, Mental Health, Random thoughts, social issues, Sustainable living, World of Warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More to Life

  1. kiwiyarns says:

    I wholeheartedly agree.

    Like

  2. Bridget says:

    Could’nt agree more…if only more people could get that message.

    Like

Leave a Reply

