Wholehearted Shawl finished!

I finished the Wholehearted Shawl on May 31st, and let it block overnight.  Am very happy with it!  The one drawback I have noticed with many shawls is their tendency to slip off my shoulders.  The shape of the Wholehearted Shawl means it does not do that.    🙂   I did not use the picot bind-off in the pattern; for some reason I had trouble with it, and eventually finished it in a loose bind-off that probably has no name.   lol

During my lunch hour today I stopped by A Perfect Yarn (Crescent City, CA), and the two lovely owners showed me how to do the picot bind-off.   I will use that with my next Wholehearted Shawl, in the shades of green I originally envisioned.   In the process of showing me how to do the bind-off, I also discovered I have been knitting “backward” all these years!  I learned from the Internet, and apparently the directions were written by someone who learned how to knit here in the U.S. during the 1930s.  (There are a lot of women in the U.S. who knit backward because of that.)   You can still create beautiful things, but the process is a bit more cumbersome.   The ladies at A Perfect Yarn took the time to show me how to knit and purl properly, and even gave me “homework” to take home and practice with.   🙂

Wish I had more time to knit — this having to work is such a bother!   🙂   I have the yarn and pattern to make two lovely neck/shoulder warmers (Cadeau) designed by Wei Siew at Kiwiyarn Knits.  I also have the yarn and pattern to do Wingspan, a shawl/scarf.   And the Yarn Harlot has been tempting me with a shawl called Color Affection, particularly with the photo of the one she made.  I don’t have the yarn for that one yet, but am thinking dark green, a cool purple/lavender, and some sort of blue.

I so enjoy knitting!   🙂

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in practical art, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wholehearted Shawl finished!

  1. knittingmommas says:

    Backwards in knitting is a relative term, but I have to agree, it is awesome you have learned to knit the other way, now, you can do it however you want. I like to knit both ways, and skip purling, now.

    Like

  2. ironwing says:

    Very pretty design, and the rainbow stripes add a lot. Our climate is a bit harsh for such things – when I want a shawl, I wear a Mexican rebozo so I can put it over my head if needed. I have a friend who crochets backwards, and once read about a Zuni embroidery artist who always worked from the back of the fabric. I’ve heard blacksmiths arguing about whether to move the hammer over the iron or move the iron under the hammer. Whatever. Technique does matter, but sometimes it’s only the result that counts!

    Like

    • judithornot says:

      Thanks, Lorena. Now I’m trying to relearn the technique, and it’s funny how difficult that is. 🙂 But I reason it is better in the long run. Meanwhile, I agree that it is the result that counts!

      Like

  3. Oooohhh!!! That is so cute! Have you ever thought about selling some of the things you knit?

    Like

    • judithornot says:

      Thanks for the complement! 🙂 Selling handknits is one of those things where you can never really price it based on hours involved. And at this point, I make too many errors to consider actually selling a piece. 🙂 But I have fun with them, and occasionally give them to family and friends.

      Like

  4. Bridget says:

    Beautiful! A work of art.

    Like

    • judithornot says:

      Thank you! :-). I wore it to work today, and it feels cozy. Even felt springy between me and the car seat.

      Like

  5. kiwiyarns says:

    Yours has come out beautifully, and I like it in the DK weight – it’s a bit more substantial than the fingering version. Congratulations on making the deadline! The colour is so pretty, and it looks fine even without the picot edging.

    Thanks for queuing my pattern. 🙂 Make sure you download the updated one – I made a small error in the first version.

    Like

    • judithornot says:

      Thank you, Wei Siew. 🙂 Started on the shades of green one yesterday, and in the lace weight it is going to look very different. Am looking forward to making your Cadeau, but must admit it is moving slightly down the queue. With it being almost Summer here, I am leaning toward the lightweight yarns for knitting. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

