Worldwide Knit in Public Day

June 14th is Worldwide Knit in Public Day.  🙂   Here in the United States, it is also when the Army celebrates its beginning (237 years proud!), and is Flag Day. 

I was out of town for a tribal DV circle (more on that next time), so I planned the return trip to include a drive through Ashland, Oregon, and a visit to one of my favorite yarn stores, Web*sters.  🙂   I bought yarn for the Color Affection shawl.

.

.

.

.

Then, to celebrate the Army’s birthday, I bought undyed yarn in natural sheep colors, which is much like the desert camo uniforms they wear in Iraq and Afghanistan.  Am thinking I may use it to make an open-weave tunic, to wear over tank tops and t-shirts.  I found this pattern by Pickles, called Sunshine Top.

.

.

.

While at Web*sters, they told me about a yarn bombing some of the local knitters did on one of the trees on the grounds of the Shakespeare Festival.  So I took a short walk over and found it.  🙂

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I timed my visit to Ashland so I could have lunch at The Black Sheep, a slightly Americanized version of an English pub.  They have lovely lamb stew, and a refreshing hard cider on tap.  And there I knitted in public.   🙂  I knit in public quite a lot, but it seemed important to make a point of doing it today.

.

Did you knit in public today?  Where?

About judithornot

Lives in semi-rural Northern California, happily married, retired counselor, night person, knits, plays WoW.
This entry was posted in practical art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Worldwide Knit in Public Day

  1. I wish I could knit, but I just don’t have the patience for it. lol Yarn bombs are so cool! A light post at the local IRS office where I live got yarn bombed. 🙂

    Like

  2. kiwiyarns says:

    Nice! I would have been knitting in the car in the two minutes between arriving and my son coming out of school. 😉

    Like

  3. las artes says:

    I went to Iceland to teach knitting on a tour for knitters–and forgot to bring something to knit. I left with knitting in my bag, sure. I didn’t have a hat or neck warmer to wear on the trip, so I whipped them out en route . But that left me with nothing to knit once I landed. Of course, in Iceland you are never more than two feet from a yarn display and I picked up two balls of Lopi Einband . Einband is Lopi’s laceweight. Fuzzy, warm, decidedly on the crunchy side. Takes dye like a mofo, blocks like a dream.Total cost: six United States dollars. I started playing with the yarn during the tour, and now it looks like this. I’m calling it Iceland Sky–fathoms of blue studded with stars and draped in the aurora borealis. Pattern forthcoming. This week, as soon as the Anna Shawl comes back from the splendid new tech editor, Iceland Sky heads out for him to review.

    Like

    • judithornot says:

      Sounds fascinating. 🙂 I love buying yarn while traveling, because the item you knit becomes a practial souvenir. And you find unique (to you) materials!

      Like

Leave a Reply

